Life Drawing and Validation – Altrincham’s Open Studios

I think it may be something to do with approaching a milestone age but I have recently been living at an accelerated speed.

Not particularly hedonistic but in terms of adding to my repertoire of life experiences, things have stepped up a gear.

It’s as though I’m prepping for an ‘end of year’ review in my ‘real’ job (when not prattling on online), except this is an ‘end of decade’ review. Predictably I’m not divulging which particular decade I’m due to leave sometime this year.

img_1169

In a blind panic, I’m adding to the (imagined) section, ‘what in actual hell have you done with your life recently apart from developing an addiction to cheese, sparkling wine and watching ’90 Day Fiancé’ incessantly on the wonderful channel that is TLC’.

In order to validate my life (or position at the company who employs me, to further the analogy), I’ve taken on a number of new projects and interests. One of which is Life Drawing.

I’ve always had a keen interest in art, mainly fuelled by me achieving my highest module mark in The History and Theory of Art, during my three year not art degree. It was on that day that I vowed to bang on about this forever more.

I verge from an appreciation of the traditional, to the Warhols, to the sublime (I once found myself on my hands and knees, crawling through an installation (tunnel) of ‘something’ at the Tate Modern, only to find myself out the other end, having seen nothing but darkness.

Part of me added my own deep theory as to what the artist had in mind.

Part of me wondered if my confusion upon exiting was being filmed; my bewildered expression forming part of a bigger installation to be projected onto the Houses of Parliament at a later date, a’la Gail Porter, entitled ‘The gullible’.

img_3904

Back to the point, and the purpose of this blog post; that is, giving thanks and a shout out to the wonderful Open Studios in Altrincham, who both locals and not so locals, will know from the wonderful classes they put on, and the marvellous ‘Hidden Altrincham’ festival, showcasing art around the town.

As described on their website, Open Studios is where one goes

to be creative

even if you consider yourself not.

That non-consideration, will very quickly be discouraged through encouragement, by the lovely Jo Cushing who has not only shown me how to put up an easel without trapping everyone of my fingers (although I’m still unable to put it away without smashing it into the ceiling), but the rudimentaries in applying charcoal to paper, and drawing the wonderfully poised and, well, remarkably ‘still’ life models before me.

I have been to two classes so far and any nerves about picking up a piece of charcoal since I was in high school were quickly calmed by not only Tutor Jo, but by the other lovely artists (when I say ‘other’ I mean in addition to Jo, not myself) who have attended the class on a Wednesday at 7pm.

my first stab – apologies to the model

It is at this point I add my reason for this particularly timed post. Walk-ins are welcome to each and every class, and no sign-ups are required. This is particularly beneficial to people like me who may appear flaky but unable to go more than once every month of so. Such as being unable go again for a further two weeks…And so this blog post also forms part of a message to Jo…

I haven’t been for a few weeks, not because I’m sulking that I couldn’t draw that foot properly last time – I’m still keen to learn and have even done sketching homework (not life models, you understand).

Anyone and everyone is welcome, including beginners, and for only £13, receive two hours of tutorage. You even get to keep your drawings! And the smudges all over your face from incessantly touching your face with your charcoal fingers (I’m a face toucher, evidently).

And so in the absence of attending tonight (not that I’m suggesting I’ll be missed), I wanted to encourage others to, to keep my place warm so to speak.

With even a tea or coffee thrown in (I take my own diet coke, admittedly – I’m a strange non-brew drinker), add to your life-CV and list of anecdotes, by popping along to give it a go. And I’ll see you there (in a couple of weeks).

Life Drawing classes are every Wednesday 7pm-9pm, as well as Tuesdays 11am-1pm (when I’m unable to attend, as I’m trying to keep myself in employment during the week).

For details of these classes, all others and the Studio itself, please click through to the website here.

Leave a comment